Marshall University

Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

8-19-2020

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, August 19, 2020

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes

Part of the Higher Education Commons, and the Higher Education Administration Commons

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 19, 2020, AT 3:00 P.M. MICROSOFT TEAMS VIRTUAL MEETING

MEMBERS PRESENT: CAM: Jack Colclough, Sandra Reed, Rob Rabe, Mark Zanter, Adam Dalton CESC: Cong Pu, Mehdi Esmaeilpour, Sungmin Youn, Sarah Surber COB: Uday Tate, Timothy Bryan, Daesung Ha, Doohee Lee, Uyi Lawani COEPD: Melinda Backus, Tina Allen, Kimberly McFall, Tim Melvin, George Watson, Feon Smith-Branch COHP: Robert Powell, Carrie Childers, Debra Young, Bethany Dyer, Annette Ferguson, Sujoy Bose COLA: Ida Day, Marybeth Beller, Megan Marshall, Jose Morillo, Kristen Lillvis, Robert Ellison, Amine Oudghire-Otmani, Joel Peckham, Kelli Prejean, Boniface Noyongoyo, Jana Tigchelaar, Anita Walz, Barbara Tarter COS: Sean McBride, Rosalynn Quinones-Fernandez, Philippe Georgel, Bill Gardner, Kyle Palmquist, JiYoon Jung, Elizabeth Niese, Jon Saken, Stephen Young SOM: Subha Arthur, Komal Sodhi, Chris Risher SOP: Mindy Varney, Ruhul Arm Amin, Sarah Plummer ULIB: Paris Webb, Eryn Roles Charleston at-Large: Tracy Christofero

MEMBERS ABSENT: Robert Powell, Jose Morillo, Sarah Plummer

EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Lori Howard (Graduate Council), Amine Oudghiri-Otmani (ACF)

EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

EX-OFFICIO, NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

BOG REPRESENTATIVE: Dan Holbrook

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Carl Mummert

GUESTS: Eric Blough, Robert Bookwalter, Monica Brooks, Terry Hapney, Thomas Hisiro, Cynthia Jones, Suzanne Konz, Nicola LoCascio, Ginny Painter, Leah Payne, Michael Prewitt, Charles Sommerville, Susan Welch

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Philippe Georgel, called the meeting to order at approximately 3:00 p.m.

- 1. Welcome and Introductions Philippe Georgel
 - a. Welcomed returning and new Senators back to campus
 - b. There are new policies that will be implemented for the fall semester
 - c. Provided an overview of the summer meetings and work of the Faculty Senate
 - d. Next Executive Committee meeting is September 14, 2020 in Microsoft Teams
 - e. Next Faculty Senate meeting is September 24, 2020 in Microsoft Teams
- 2. Review of Parliamentary Procedure Carl Mummert
- 3. Election for Executive Positions (via Poll Everywhere)
 - a. The following senators were elected
 - i. Chair Philippe Georgel
 - ii. Vice Chair Marybeth Beller
 - iii. Recording Secretary Sujoy Bose
- 4. College Conferences Election for remaining members of the Executive Committee
 - a. The following Senators were elected
 - i. CAM Mark Zanter
 - ii. SOP Ruhul Amin
 - iii. SOM Subha Arthur
 - iv. ULIB Eryn Roles
- 5. Elections of Liaisons to open positions

- a. The following Senators were elected
 - i. Academic Planning Tracy Christofero
 - ii. Athletic George Watson
 - iii. Budget and Academic Policy Steve Young
 - iv. University Curriculum Committee Debra Young
 - v. Faculty Development not filled
 - vi. Faculty Personnel Timothy Bryan
 - vii. Legislative Affairs Elizabeth Niese
 - viii. Library Kristen Lillvis
 - ix. Physical Facilities and Planning Bill Gardner
 - x. Research Kyle Palmquist
 - xi. Student Conduct & Welfare Penny Koontz

6. Adjournment at 4:07 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Cynthia B. Jones

Cynthia B. Jones, Ph. D, Recording Secretary, Faculty Senate

MINUTES READ:

Dr. Philippe Georgel, Chair, Faculty Senate

Dr. Jerome Gilbert, President, Marshall University