Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

1-4-2021

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, January 4, 2021

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes

Part of the Higher Education Commons, and the Higher Education Administration Commons

MINUTES OF MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE SPECIAL MEETING

HELD ON MONDAY JANUARY 04, 2021, AT 4:00 P.M.

MICROSOFT TEAMS VIRTUAL MEETING

MEMBERS PRESENT: **CAM**: Jack Colclough, Adam Dalton, Rob Rabe, Sandra Reed, Mark Zanter **CECS**: Mehdi Esmaeilpour, Sungmin Youn, Sarah Surber, Cong Pu **LCOB**: Uyi Lawani, Doohee Lee, Timothy Bryan, Uday Tate **COHP**: Sujoy Bose (*Secretary FS*), Bethany Dyer, Carrie Childers, Annette Ferguson, Debra Young (*Liaison*) **COLA**: Marybeth Beller (*Vice-Chair FS*), Robert Ellison, Anita Walz, Penny Koontz, Jana Tigchelaar, Jose Morillo, Boniface Noyongo, Megan Marshall, Kelli Prejean, Barbara Tarter, Kristen Lillvis (*Chair, FS*), Daniel O'Malley, Jill Treftz, Robert Bookwalter, Ida Day, Joel Peckham **COS**: Philippe Georgel (Ex-*Chair, FS*), Jon Saken, Kyle Palmquist, Stephen Young, Bill Gardner Jr., Rosalyn Quinones-Fernandez, Sean McBride, Elizabeth Niese (*Liaison*) **CITE**: (*Cross-reference Cong Pu in CECS*) **COEPD**: George Watson, Timothy Melvin, Mindy Backus, Kimberly McFall, Feon Smith-Branch **SOM**: Chris Risher, Subha Arthur, Komal Sodhi **SOP**: Sarah Plummer, Melinda (Mindy) Varney, Ruhul Amin **South Charleston**: Tracy Christofero **ULIB**: Eryn Roles, Paris Webb

Select by Colleges – CAM, CECS, LCOB, COHP, COLA, COS, CITE, COEPD, SOM, SOP, South Charleston, ULIB

MEMBERS ABSENT: Tina Allen (<u>COEPD</u>), Scott Gibbs (<u>SOM</u> alternate), Vikram Shivkumar (<u>SOM</u> alternate), Dana Lycans (<u>SOM</u> alternate), Tim Long (<u>SOP</u> alternate), Michael Hambuchen (<u>SOP</u> alternate), Robert Powell (<u>COHP</u>), Jiyoon Jung (<u>COS</u>), Daesung Ha (<u>LCOB</u>), Timothy Bryan (<u>LCOB</u>), Uday Tate (<u>LCOB</u>).

EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Lori Howard (*Graduate Council – cross refer <u>w/COEPD</u>*), Amine Oudghiri-Otmani (*ACF; cross refer <u>w/COLA</u>*)

EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT: N/A.

EX-OFFICIO, NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Dan Holbrook (*Cross-reference with BOG Representative & COLA*)

BOG REPRESENTATIVE: Dan Holbrook (*Ex-Officio Non-Voting – Cross reference w/Ex-officio Non-voting above*)

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Carl Mummert

GUESTS: Wendell Dobbs, Leah Payne (Staff); Amie Maynard (Staff/Elections)

UNRESOLVED:

No Sign-in

Call to Order: Declaring that there was a quorum, Acting Faculty Senate Chair, Marybeth Beller, called the meeting to order at approximately 4:00 p.m.

Special Meeting for Election(s) of Faculty Senate Chair, and Officers (if indicated).

Nomination (made by Elizabeth Niese) for Chair – Kristen Lillvis (Dept. of English) – Personal statement circulated to FS in advance. Dr. Lillvis made a brief statement accepting her nomination. No other nomination.

MINUTES OF MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE SPECIAL MEETING

HELD ON MONDAY 04, 2021, AT 4:00 P.M.

MICROSOFT TEAMS VIRTUAL MEETING

Election vote: Dr. Lillvis elected as new Faculty Chair.

Change of Presiding Officer to Dr. Kristen Lillvis.

Nomination (made by Dr. Kelli Prejean) for Vice-Chair - Eryn Roles (Library)

Election vote: Elected.

Nomination for new library representative (non-elected position) in light of Kristen Lillvis assuming Chair duties: Megan Marshall is new representative for Library.

Adjournment:

With agenda for elections addressed, this meeting was adjourned at approximately 17:00 hours (5:00 pm).

Respectfully Submitted,

NOC

Dr. Sujoy Bose, Recording Secretary

Faculty Senate

MINUTES READ:

hulill

Dr. Kristen Lillvis, Chair

Faculty Senate romi

Dr. Jerome Gilbert, President

Marshall University

HELD ON MONDAY 04, 2021, AT 4:00 P.M.

MICROSOFT TEAMS VIRTUAL MEETING

Link to Video Minutes: https://web.microsoftstream.com/video/f3881c88-a9e6-45a9-a9d5d035f74481e4