Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

8-19-2021

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, August 19, 2021

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes

Part of the Higher Education Commons, and the Higher Education Administration Commons

MINUTES OF MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE SPECIAL MEETING

HELD ON THURSDAY, AUGUST 19, 2021, AT 4:00 P.M.

MICROSOFT TEAMS VIRTUAL MEETING

MEMBERS PRESENT: **CAM**: Adam Dalton, Mark Zanter **CECS**: Mehdi Esmaeilpour, Sungmin Youn, Cong Pu **LCOB**: Uyi Lawani, Doohee Lee, Uday Tate **COHP**: Sujoy Bose (*Secretary FS*), Carrie Childers, Annette Ferguson **COLA**: Robert Ellison, Anita Walz, Penny Koontz, Jana Tigchelaar, Megan Marshall, Kelli Prejean, Ida Day, Amine Oudhghiri-Otmani (*Cross-refer w/Ex-Officio, Voting*) **COS**: Philippe Georgel, Jon Saken, Kyle Palmquist, Stephen Young, Bill Gardner Jr., Rosalyn Quinones-Fernandez, Sean McBride, Jiyoon Jung, Elizabeth Niese **CITE**: (*Cross-reference Cong Pu in CECS*) **COEPD**: Mindy Backus, Kimberly McFall, Mindy Allenger **SOM**: Chris Risher, Subha Arthur **SOP**: Melinda (Mindy) Varney, Ruhul Amin **South Charleston**: Tracy Christofero (*Elected Chair, FS*) **ULIB**: Eryn Roles, Paris Webb

Elizabeth Niese was PRESENT but unable to record on the form.

Select by Colleges – CAM, CECS, LCOB, COHP, COLA, COS, CITE, COEPD, SOM, SOP, South Charleston, ULIB

MEMBERS ABSENT: <u>CAM</u>: Jack Colclough, Sandra Reed, Rob Rabe; <u>COEPD</u>: Tim Melvin, George Watson, Feon Smith-Branch; <u>SOM</u> alternate : Scott Gibbs, Vikram Shivkumar, Dana Lycans; <u>SOP</u> alternate: Tim Long, Michael Hambuchen; Charles "C.K." Babcock, Sarah Plummer; <u>COLA</u>: Marybeth Beller, Robert Ellison (on sabbatical), Boniface Noyongoyo, Joel Pekham, Daniel O'Malley for Barbara Tarter (on sabbatical); <u>COHP</u>: Robert Powell, Debra Young, Bethany Dyer; <u>CECS</u> : Sarah Surber: <u>LCOB</u>: Daesung Ha, Timothy Bryan

EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Lori Howard (*Graduate Council – cross refer w/<u>COEPD</u>*), Amine Oudghiri-Otmani (*ACF; cross refer w/<u>COLA</u>*)

EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT: N/A.

EX-OFFICIO, NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

BOG REPRESENTATIVE:

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Zelideth Maria Rivas

GUESTS: Amie Maynard (Staff/Elections)

UNRESOLVED: None

No Sign-in

Call to Order: Declaring that there was a quorum, Acting Faculty Senate Chair, Eryn Roles, called the meeting to order at approximately 4:02 p.m.

Special Meeting for Election(s) of Faculty Senate Chair, and Officers (if indicated).

Nomination (made by Doohee Lee) for Chair – Tracy Christofero (College of Business) – Personal statement circulated to FS in advance. Dr. Christofero made a brief statement accepting her nomination – reference . No other nomination, or candidate.

MINUTES OF MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE SPECIAL MEETING

HELD ON THURSDAY, AUGUST 19, 2021, AT 4:00 P.M.

MICROSOFT TEAMS VIRTUAL MEETING

Motion - Elect Tracy Christofero as FS Chair (for current continuing term).

Election by Acclamation: Candidate exited meeting. The Senate elected Dr. Christofero as new Faculty Chair. Duly elected candidate was re-admitted to meeting. Election results declared.

Change of Presiding Officer to Dr. Tracy Christofero.

Adjournment:

With agenda for elections addressed, this meeting was adjourned at approximately 17:00 hours (4:19 pm).

Respectfully Submitted,

Jol

Dr. Sujoy Bose, Recording Secretary

Faculty Senate

MINUTES READ:

"histofuro

Dr. Tracy Christofero, Chair

Faculty Senate

Dr. Jerome Gilbert, President

Marshall University

Link to Video Minutes: