Personal Name

Jacob Ertl



Download Full Text (182 KB)

Publication Date


Year of Release



Jacob Ertl, a native of Appleton, Wisconsin, has performed across the United States, and abroad in Europe, Israel, Canada, and Mexico. A winner of numerous national and international competitions, Jacob has debuted at Carnegie Hall's Weill Recital Hall and Merkin Concert Hall in NYC, on Chicago Radio's "Live from WFMT" series. Wisconsin Public Radio’s Live from the Elvehjem” series, and, performed with the Milwaukee Chamber Orchestra and Fox Valley Symphony.

For the past six years, Jacob has been the Artist-in-Residence Fellow for PianoArts where he has performed hundreds of interactive outreach concerts and collaborated with over twenty public schools. He frequently performs solo and chamber music at festivals like the Gijon International Piano Festival, Tel-Hai Piano Master Classes, Nice International Music Academy, Banff Piano Master Classes, Bowdoin International Music Festival, Pianofest in the Hamptons, The Quartet Program, TCU/Van Cliburn Institute, and the Heifetz Institute.

An avid supporter of music of our time, Jacob regularly programs new music and is currently a member of the Eastman Broadband contemporary music ensemble, with whom he has recently toured to Mexico (Chihuahua International Music Festival) and New York (Americas Society, Symphony Space).

Jacob recently completed his Doctor of Musical Arts degree at the Eastman School of Music, where he served as teaching assistant for Nelita True. He also earned his Master's degree from Eastman and his Bachelor's degree from the Oberlin Conservatory of Music, studying with Robert Shannon. He has also studied with Arie Vardi, Vladimir Krainev, Pascal Roge, Julian Martin, Robert McDonald, Emanuel Krasovsky, and Michael Kim. Jacob is currently Assistant Professor of Piano at Indiana University of Pennsylvania. For media and upcoming events:


Smith Recital Hall

Library of Congress Authorities

Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Sonatas, piano, no. 27, op. 90, E minor

Rzewski, Frederic. De profundis

Liszt, Franz, 1811-1886. Années de pèlerinage, 1ère année. Vallée d'Obermann

Stravinsky, Igor, 1882-1971. Zhar-ptit︠s︡a


piano music, arrangements, recitals


Arts and Humanities | Fine Arts | Music | Music Performance

Marshall University Music Department Presents a Guest Artist Recital, Jacob Ertl, Piano