Download Full Text (345 KB)

Publication Date

Spring 4-30-2014

Year of Release



Acknowledgments: Dr. Edwin Bingham, the percussion studio, Chris Bunner

Orchestra Personnel:

Molly Page**, Angela Scoulas, Olivia Hay, Michael Wilcoxon, Emiko Lowers-Hori, violin

Nathanial Ramsey*, Maggie Cobb, Miranda Runyon, Heather Taylor, Kelcey Perkins, Samuel Bauserman, violin II

Lucia Soltis*, Christianna Dixon, Donovan Steele, Andrew Swing, Jame McCumbee, viola

Dean Pauley*, David Hay, cello

Ryan Morgan*, Craig Burletic, Thomas Walker, bass

Allison Kessinger*, Aaron Sowards, flute

Aaron Sowards, piccolo

Eric Caines*, Lena Williams, oboe

Eric Caines, English horn

Scott Nibert*, Kaitlyn Miller, clarinet

Chris McNees*, Michelle McKenzie, bassoon

Christian Cremeans*, Nicholas Bragg, Danielle Ocheltree, Zachary New, horn

Justin Bahawi*, Sean Maxwell, Chris Bunner, trumpet

John Bruce*, Thomas Cavender, Bradley Brown, trombone

Anthony Reynolds, tuba

Evan Grover*, Matthew Bradley, Jeremy Boggs, Joseph Crowe, Shane Stevens, Chad Terry, percussion

Shane Stevens, celeste

Mark Smith, keyboard

** Concertmaster


Tonight's soloists are the winners of the Concert of Soloists competition held on February 2, 2014. This competition is held on even-numbered years, and is judged by a panel of external adjudicators.

Jordan Carinelli is a junior saxophone major from Bluefield, West Virginia. A student of Dr. Edwin Bingham, he is the 2014 recipient of the Paul A. Balshaw Award, and will attend the American Saxophone Academy at the Eastman School of Music this summer.

A native of Lishui, China, Yuhao Zhou began violin lessons at the age of six. He spent three years at the Interlochen Arts Academy as a student of Hal Grossman and has participated in the Round Top Festival. He is a freshman violin major in the studio of Dr. Elizabeth Reed Smith.


Smith Recital Hall

Library of Congress Authorities

Sibelius, Jean, 1865-1957. Finlandia

Decruck, Fernande, 1896-1954. Sonata, saxophone, orchestra, C♯; arranged

Prokofiev, Sergey, 1891-1953. Concertos, violin, orchestra, no. 2, op. 63, G minor

Bruckner, Anton, 1824-1896. Marches, orchestra, D minor


recitals, orchestral music


Arts and Humanities | Fine Arts | Music | Music Performance

Marshall University Music Department Presents The Marshall University Symphony Orchestra, Concert of Soloists, Dr. Elizabeth Reed Smith, conductor, Dr. Edwin Bingham, guest conductor, featuring, Jordan Carinelli, alto saxophone, Yuhao Zhoe, violin