Download Full Text (344 KB)

Publication Date


Year of Release



William H. Holderby II, horn

Brianna Williams, euphonium

Mary Beth Withers, soprano

About the soloists:

William H. Holderby II is a senior horn performance major from Proctorville, Ohio. He is a student in the class of Stephen Lawson.

Brianna Williams is a junior euphonium music education major from Bluefield, West Virginia. She is a student of Dr. Michael Stroeher.

Mary Beth Withers, soprano, is a masters student in voice performance from Huntington, and is a student in the class of Linda Dobbs.

Holderby, Williams and Withers won the Concert of Soloists competition in February.

Orchestra Personnel:

Abby Melissa Holmes, concertmaster, Tim Feverston, Lindsay DiFatta, Melody Cook, Emiko Hori, Hyo Jung Chun, Rebecca Lepanto, Samuel Bausennan, violin I

Janet Brotnley, principal, Megan Hunt, Kelcey Perkins, Michael Wilcoxon, violin II

Susan Cook, principal, Jame C. McCumbee, viola

Ezgi Karakus, principal, Dean Pauley, Jamie Dzierzak, Ronnie Thompson, cello

Rebecca M. Harrison, principal, Jeff Smith, bass

Brittany White, principal, Sean T. Reed, flute

Aaron Sowards, piccolo

Ross Patrick, percussion

Cassandra Thompson-Chapman, principal, Lee Ann Lykens, oboe

Lee Ann Lykens, English horn

Adam C. Rhodes, principal, Emilea Burgh, clarinet

Kay Lawson, principal, bassoon

William H. Holderby II, principal, Arleigh Dickerson, co-principal, Mindy Kelle, Kristen Liegey, Kristen Bobuk, horn

Mary Heath, co-principal, Isaac Winland, co-principal, trumpet

Austin Seybert, principal, Brianna Williams, John T. Galloway, trombone

Andrew Fleck, bass trombone

John Arthur, tuba

Anna Maria Firth, timpani


Smith Recital Hall

Library of Congress Authorities

Saint-Saëns, Camille, 1835-1921. Marche héroïque

Strauss, Richard, 1864-1949. Concertos, horn, orchestra, no. 1, op. 11, E♭ major; arranged

Horovitz, Joseph, 1926- Concertos, euphonium, band

Catalani, Alfredo, 1854-1893. Wally. Ebben? Ne andrò lontana

Bizet, Georges, 1838-1875. Carmen. Je dis que rien ne m'épouvante

Bizet, Georges, 1838-1875. Carmen


recitals, concerto, orchestra, arias, soprano, euphonium, horn


Arts and Humanities | Fine Arts | Music | Music Performance

Marshall University Music Department Presents the Marshall University Symphony Orchestra, Concert of Soloists. Dr. Elizabeth Reed Smith, conductor, with, William H. Holderby II, horn, Brianna Williams, euphonium, Mary Beth Withers, soprano