Download Full Text (337 KB)

Publication Date

Fall 10-15-2010

Year of Release



Ozge ileri, cello

Alanna Cushing, piano


Özge İleri (b.1982) began her music education in 1993 at Hacettepe University State Conservatory, Ankara, Turkey with Tufan Tolga. During her education she worked with Çağlayan Ünal and graduated from the cello studio of Erdoğan Davran in June 2003. She has graduated from Marshall University M.A. Cello Performance program where she worked with Dr. Şölen Dikener and participated at the Marshall University ensembles, and she had chance to give many recitals at the university and graduated in May 2006. At the present time, Özge İleri is completed the D.M.A. cello performance program at University of Memphis where she studied in the studio of Leonardo Altino and she is in the process of writing her doctoral dissertation.

Alanna Cushing has earned degrees from Marshall University and Bowling Green State University. She has appeared as a soloist and collaborative artist throughout much of the midwest. Ms. Cushing has a strong interest in playing new music. She has premiered works by Kristen Kuster, Mark Zanter, Erik Lund, and Graham Lynch. This past March, Ms. Cushing participated in the 2010 Society of Composers National Convention, where she gave the world premiere of Intermezzo for prepared piano, by Jose-Luis Hurtado. Her most recent collaborative work includes recitals given with trombonist Michael Stroeher, tubist George Palton, and soprano Marlayna Maynard. Ms. Cushing is also an active teacher and was invited to be a guest instructor at Bowling Green's Summer Music Institute in 2008. She recently returned to Huntington, WV and is currently teaching piano and theory at Marshall University.


First Presbyterian Church, Huntington, WV

Library of Congress Authorities

Fauré, Gabriel, 1845-1924. Elegy, cello, piano, op. 24

Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Variations, piano, WoO 80, C minor

Saint-Saëns, Camille, 1835-1921. Allegro appassionato, cello, piano

Ince, Kamran. MKG variations

Messiaen, Olivier, 1908-1992. Quatuor pour la fin du temps. Louange à l'éternité de Jésus


recitals, cello, piano, guest artist


Arts and Humanities | Fine Arts | Music | Music Performance

Marshall University Music Department Presents a Music Alive, Guest Artist Series,