Personal Name

John Bruce



Download Full Text (310 KB)

Publication Date

Spring 4-12-2015

Year of Release



John Bruce, tenor and alto trombone

assisted by:

Mark Smith, piano

This recital is presented in partial fulfillment of the requirements for a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in trombone performance. Mr. Bruce is a student in the trombone/euphonium studio of Dr. Michael Stroeher.

Program Notes

Movement for Trombone and Piano

Frigyes Hidas studied composition at the Ferenc Liszt Academy of Music with János Visky. For fifteen years he was music director of the Hungarian National Theatre from 1951 to 1966 and between 1974 and 1979 he performed the same function at the municipal Operetta Theatre.

Published in 1983 by Editio Musica, and written for William Cramer, Movement for Trombone and Piano is a popular modern addition to the trombone repertoire. While this work is not overly demanding of the performer, it does push the upper register to an extreme.

Romance, op. 21

Axel Jorgensen had a musical career as a violinist and violist in many orchestras in Paris and Denmark, including the Tivoli Concert Hall Orchestra and the Royal Opera and Ballet Orchestra.

The Romance was first performed in 1916 by Anton Hansen, who was the principal trombonist of the Royal Orchestra, in an arrangement for trombone and orchestra. The piano version was published in 1921.

Concerto in Bb Major, op. 7, no. 3

Originally written for oboe and strings, this arrangement was transcribed for alto trombone and piano by trombonist Branimir Slokar. This transcription was copyrighted in 1998 and published by Editions

Marc Reift.

A traditional Baroque solo, noted by the dancelike melodies in the first and third movements, while the second movement is a slow movement set in G minor, the relative minor of Bb Major.

Sonata for Trombone and Piano

Sonata for Trombone and Piano was written for Michael Powell, the tenor trombonist of the American Brass Quintet, and premiered in 1993 at the Aspen Music Festival.

The first movement is written in a Sonata-Allegro form. The second movement is very dark and solemn. The effect is helped in its creation by the use of the instrument' slower register. The third movement is a fast rondo in ABACA form. This movement brings up many rhythmic passages that have appeared throughout, especially from the first movement.


Smith Recital Hall


Arts and Humanities | Fine Arts | Music | Music Performance

Marshall University Music Department Presents a Senior Recital, John Bruce, tenor and alto Trombones